pumpkin love.

I am in love with the fall. I love everything about the changing of the leaves, cooler mornings and evenings, fall decorations, and of course pumpkin flavored everything.

We have been enjoying the Pumpkin Pancakes from Practical Paleo at least once a week. Seriously N & S gobble about 6-7 a piece! Granted, since they are Paleo the texture is much thinner than a normal pancake and I make them silver dollar sized…but still they can’t get enough of them! Plus, since there is a little maple syrup in them we don’t put anything other than a sprinkling of cinnamon on top and I love that they aren’t loaded with syrup while they eat them. Either way, they are a hit and every time I am hoping to have leftovers to make little sandwiches with I am left empty handed and telling myself I should double the recipe. Make these for breakfast the first chance you get! They are a huge hit in our house and I know they will be in yours too! Find the recipe here.

Yesterday we made Paleo Pumpkin Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies and will make these again I am sure. They were a huge hit. I found the original recipe from Pinterest but modified it and was very happy with the results.

Paleo Pumpkin Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

Recipe adapted from FitSugar

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup olive oil ( The original recipe called for butter but I was out – I would try coconut oil next time)
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1  1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 dark chocolate bar, chopped ( I used an 85% cacao)

1. Preheat the oven to 350 and line your baking sheets with parchment paper.

2. In a large bowl, mix the olive oil, maple syrup, pumpkin and vanilla until smooth.

3. In a small bowl mix all the dry ingredients.

4. Gradually add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients; stirring to avoid clumps.

5. Stir in your chocolate chunks.

6. Scoop out your cookies and place on parchment lined cookie sheets – I used a 1 tablespoon scoop.

7.  Bake for 15-20 minutes (Set the timer for 15 – they brown quickly!)

8. Enjoy!

Image

And the last part of my pumpkin obsession this fall has been making homemade pumpkin coffee creamer that I even paleofied (is that a word? if not, it should be.) I will admit it is most definitely not the most true-to-Paleo item out there but it is way better than dumping a bunch of artificial sugar loaded fake cream in your coffee. This is made out of real food items – cream, maple syrup, and pumpkin puree. Yum! Again, another recipe that I found on Pinterest and I modified to make it fit my lifestyle. Enjoy!

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Creamer

Recipe adapted from Next to Heaven

  • 2 cups organic heavy whipping cream
  • 4-5 tablespoons organic pumpkin puree
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin spice
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 4 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
 1. Whisk cream, pumpkin, syrup, spices over medium heat.
2.  When it gets steamy remove from heat and add in the vanilla.
3. Use a strainer to transfer the cream into a jar (I used a mason jar).
4. Let it cool down and chill it the refrigerator.
5. Enjoy in your coffee the next morning!
What is your favorite pumpkin recipe? Happy Fall, friends!
Categories: healthy stuff | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “pumpkin love.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

