and then we got sick.

“Mommy my tummy hurts.” aren’t words you like to hear.  Usually the culprit is hunger, potty, or just pretend but Tuesday night my oldest wasn’t joking, wasn’t hungry, and didn’t need to go potty.  I don’t do well with throw up: it makes me gag and I hate cleaning it up.  That said, I’d rather clean my kids puke up than someone else’s any day.

So that was our Tuesday evening.

We had a slumber party in our living room with the garbage can and she was up a few more times.  To see this little body dry heaving when nothing else was left to come up made my heart sad.  It’s so hard seeing your children sick and uncomfortable.  Yet through it all this little girl was kind, sweet and still smiling; I have so much to learn from her.

I had forgotten what it was like to be up multiple times a night again; not sure I’m signing up for baby #3 anytime soon.

So Wednesday there was a lot of this:

photo 1
Thankful the girls love The Sound of Music as much as I do. If we had to watch another “Buddies” movie I might lose it.

And this:

 photo

And this:

 

photo (2)
You Tubing “Learn to Knit” to re-teach myself.

 And, since there was no more throwing up since the early Tuesday morning session we were slowing eating real food again.  Yay!

Today there’s been more of the same: movies, toys, books, and the below activity we did.  My oldest seems to be on the up and up and  my youngest is running around the house like a caged tiger . . . that’s always fun.   So far she seems to have escaped the yuckies but I feel like I’m still waiting for the other shoe to drop.  How can she not get it?

Image
We did this last year when they were sick and N. remembered and asked to do it again. So simple but so much fun!

Today we also  ventured out to the grocery store to get ingredients to make Pioneer Woman’s Chicken Noodle Soup, including homemade noodles.  I mean, why not? I’m home all day and aside from the random sore throat I got last night, I feel fine.

  My oldest still has the sick smell: do you know that smell? I remember my Mom telling us we, “smelled sick” when we had colds and I never understood it; after having kids I get it (that could be said about so many areas of life now). I can’t describe the smell but it is so obvious now and a fast way to know they aren’t feeling well.

So, here we will stay until that sick smells is gone and big sister seems to get back to 100%.

 

8 thoughts on “and then we got sick.

Leave a Reply

